Erikson and personal psychosocial stage

Is it okay to have been me? Reflection on life Hope: Mistrust oral-sensory, Infancy, under 2 years [ edit ] Existential Question: Can I Trust the World?

Erikson and personal psychosocial stage

Trust versus Mistrust Is the world safe and predictable or dangerous and chaotic? Erikson believed that the first stage of psychosocial development was centered on answering this important question. An infant enters the world totally helpless and dependent on caregivers to take care of it.

Erikson believed that during these first two critical years of life, it is essential for an infant to learn that caregivers could be trusted to provide for these needs.

Erikson's Psychosocial Stages of Development

When a child is cared for and his or her needs are attended to properly, the child develops a sense that the world is trustworthy. What happens if a child is neglected or his or her needs are not met with any real consistency?

In such a scenario, the child may develop a sense of mistrust about the world. The world may feel like an unpredictable place and the people who should love and care for the child may not be dependable. Some important things to remember about the trust versus mistrust stage: If this stage is completed successfully, the child will emerge with the virtue of hope.

Even when challenges emerge, a person with this quality will feel that they can turn to loved ones for support and care. Those who fail to gain this virtue will experience fear.

When a crisis occurs, they may feel hopeless, anxious, and insecure. Autonomy versus Shame and Doubt As children enter the toddler years, they become increasingly independent. They not only begin to walk by themselves, they also start to perform a number of actions independently.

Kids often want to make more choices about the things that impact their life such as selecting which foods to eat and which clothes to wear.

These actions not only play an important role in becoming a more independent human being, they also help determine whether children develop a sense of autonomy or feelings of doubt about their own abilities.

Those who successfully navigate this stage of psychosocial development will emerge with the virtue of will, or the sense that they can take meaningful actions that will influence what happens to them.

Kids who develop this autonomy will feel self-confident and comfortable being themselves. Caregivers can help ensure that kids succeed in this stage of encouraging choices, allowing kids to make decisions, and supporting this increased independence.

What actions might lead to failure at this stage?

Erikson and personal psychosocial stage

These children might emerge from this stage lacking self-esteem and confidence in their abilities and they may become overly dependent upon others.

Some important things to remember about the autonomy versus shame and doubt stage:erik erikson's psychosocial crisis life cycle model - the eight stages of human development Erikson's model of psychosocial development is a very significant, highly regarded and meaningful concept.

Life is a series . Erikson and Personal Psychosocial Stage Essay Sample. Renowned psychologist Erik Erikson is best known for his theory of psychosocial stages of personality development.

Get Full Essay

The last stage of Erikson’s psychosocial development is Ego Integrity vs. Despair, the virtue associated with this stage is wisdom. People at this stage of their lives look back and try to feel a sense of fulfillment, like their lives actually mattered.

Psychosocial Stage of Development Erik Erikson psychosocial stage of development is broke down into eight stages. Those eight stages cover development form birth to death.

Erik Erikson | Psychosocial Stages | Simply Psychology

Though many stages cover early childhood, most of the time lived is during adulthood (young, middle, and old adults). Erik Erikson’s Theory of Psychosocial Development emphasizes the sociocultural determinants of development and presents them as eight stages of psychosocial conflicts (often known as Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development) that all individuals must overcome or resolve successfully in order to adjust well to the .

Erikson’s 8 Stages of Psychosocial Development include stage one first year of life, stage two years, stage three years of age, stage four years, stage five adolescence, stage six young adulthood, stage seven middle adulthood, and stage eight late adulthood.

Erikson's Stages of Development - Learning Theories